Basketball Africa League Announced for 2020

Image via @NBA Twitter

During the 6th annual NBA Africa All Star Luncheon in Charlotte, the National Basketball Association (NBA) and the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) announced the plan to launch the Basketball Africa League (BAL) in 2020. The Basketball Africa League will consist of 12 club teams across the continent of Africa set to begin play in January 2020. The NBA and FIBA will conduct qualifying tournaments later this year to make selections for the 12 teams. The BAL will consist of teams representing the following countries: Angola, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa and Tunisia (no more than two teams from the same country will be able to qualify).

Continue reading